Weird quirks about French translation

Hazakurain

I will obviously ignore everything that is not translated. If you need help to translate the game valve, do not hesitate to contact me, I am a dev and I used to be a translator!

ITEMS :

NOTE : This is the format I will use for most items - French name (English name), and then Current text => Preferred text and an explanation as to why

General :

The "%", "m/s" signs are aligned differently between each items. Example : Tir curatif has "+7 %" and "+8%". The first % has a space before it, the second does not. French historically does not put spaces before %.

WEAPONS (Orange)

- Balles antimonstres (Monster Rounds) :

Current : +35% Dégâts balistiques contre les PNJ
Suggestion : +35% Dégâts des armes contre les PNJ

Balistique in French is solely the calculus that goes behind the bullet trajectory or a shield, it can't be used in that case. All other weapons use dégâts des armes as well as the english version.

- Chargeur actif (Active reload) :

Suggestion : Rechargement actif

It describes perfectly the passive with just the name, whereas Chargeur actif translates to Active magazine, which is weird.

- Furie (Berserker) :

Suggestion : Berserk

Furie does convey the idea of someone extremely angry. However Berserk is a word that exists in French and it conveys the idea that you ignore the damage dealt to you and you get even angrier. In relation to the effect of the item, I believe that's a better translation.

- Charge brute (Melee charge) :

Suggestion : Charge brutale OR Charge au front

This one is a little bit complicated. At first glance, the word translates to Raw Charge. But what bugs me with it is that you don't get the idea that your melee weapon is stronger. Charge brutale conveys the idea of a sudden rush. Quite frankly I don't like this suggestion very much. However, charge au front translated to "Charge to the front" in reference to a milatry front. I think it gives the idea of going to melee range.