[Hero Concept] Chariot, Controls spacing, initiates and peels. (Artwork)

arcsymus

Hey y'all. Nearly twenty years ago I entered a Model to Hero Contest on the old DotA Allstars forums under the alias of Vodoun, where my concept which placed 3rd was implemented as Puck the Fairy Dragon, with an accompanying initiation ability inspired by another applicant. I wish I could say that I'm an amazing Puck player, but I am proud to see Puck perform well in DotA and proud to have my ability, Illusory Orb, incorporated as a staple of MOBA abilities.

The idea for this character popped into my head recently, and I didn't know what direction I was going to take with it until I studied all of the characters in Deadlock more closely. My goal with this character was to create a stunning visual character that fits into the setting of Deadlock, while also incorporating at least one very unique ability with a lot of potential for skill expression. I think Polarity Beam satisfies this goal fairly well. It's a complex ability that may require the integration of new or complex systems, or at least benefit from new systems. I considered adding the idea that different characters possess different weights, but that's not essential to the core concept of the ability, so I left it out. I'm not great at Deadlock, but I tried designing around some of the items in the game, and more or less succeeded in this goal.

My biggest concern with this design revolves around Meteor Punch, and whether it's too similar to the normal heavy punch, or if it's occupying the same space as Abram's punch skill. (I'm also concerned that Chariot occupies Abram's space where it pertains to smoking cigars, as well as Pocket's space where it pertains to wearing a snazzy jacket.) While it doesn't come across very well in text, my hope is that this ability differs in the extended mobility that the ability offers (higher range, omnidirectional, free movement during charge).